About Mount Pleasant

The Town of Mount Pleasant is located in central Westchester County, New York approximately thirty miles north of New York City. It is bounded on the north by the Towns of New Castle and Ossining, on the south by the Town of Greenburgh, on the east by the Kensico Reservoir and the Town of North Castle and on the west by the Hudson River. Within its boundaries lie the incorporated villages of Pleasantville, Sleepy Hollow, and a small portion of Briarcliff Manor. The remaining area of the Town is unincorporated and includes the hamlets of Hawthorne, Thornwood, Valhalla and Pocantico Hills. The Town has a population of approximately 45,000.

The topography of the Town is one of gently rolling hills with large areas of open land including State, County and local parks, watershed protection lands and several cemeteries. The Pocantico River and Pocantico Lake traverse the Town from north to south where they empty into the Hudson River at Kingsland Point Park in Sleepy Hollow. The Town's largest body of water is the Kensico Reservoir which is located in the eastern portion of the Town and forms the boundary to the Town of North Castle on the east.

The Town is a mix of residential and commercial areas consisting of single-family homes, apartments and estates and commercial areas. Most residents work throughout the County or commute to New York City. Commercial development in the Town includes several large office parks. Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc. (global headquarters), EF Academy (a private school), PepsiCo Inc. (the global headquarters for Research and Development for beverages), Fuji Photo Film USA., Inc. as well as estate holdings of the Rockefeller family are also situated in the Town.

There are two major medical facilities, the Westchester Medical Center in Valhalla (a level one trauma center) and Phelps Hospital in Sleepy Hollow. The New York Medical College (including the Touro College of Dental Medicine), Pace University and Westchester Community College are also located in the Town. The Town includes 8 public school districts servicing the residents of the Town.